Sick with da flu…

Posted: February 25, 2009 in Thoughts From Flower Mountain, Uncategorized

OK great! I was having trouble inserting photos for a second there….

So much to write about,  I’ll just start with February…

On the 6th of Feb I went to Tokyo with a broken camera… so broken in fact, that when I took it to an electronic store to get fixed, I was told it would take 2 weeks.  So no photos of Tokyo.

Tokyo is not a city. It is about seven cities combined. My third visit, and it still overwhelmed me. But I left with a better grasp of it than any previous time.

Here’s my advice to anyone who wants to get into as much live music in Tokyo as possible in a fairly short time –

1. In the morning, go to Tower Records in Shibuya and raid their streetpress section – if you can get talking to any music minded folks while your at it, so much the better.

2. After that, take a break from city madness and  hang out in Ueno park – check a museum.

3. Read your streetpress – a good live show might set you back 80 bucks  but can provide an opportunity to meet like minded folks.

4. Stay away from clubs – they be bad news.

As soon as I went and checked some streetpress I found out about Qtip rockin a live at O-East in Shibuya: it was awesome, and I made some friends.I was also treated to some real fine hospitality – a friend of a friend put me up in his house – he and his family were super generous and kind.

So I came back from Tokyo on the 11th with some “Postal Service” and “Me First and the Gimme Gimmes” (bands my mates like), some new headphones and an electronic dictionary. By the way, some other things I got introduced to by my friend – “the IT crowd” – a very funny brit-show and “Once in Dublin”, the first scene of which is a MUST watch.  Laughter is good for the soul, so yeah, when I get word of a good comedy, I like to spread it.

Took my camera to the Nikon Centre and they fixed it in under 48hrs!

Valentines day a friend had a Nabe Party… pics attached!

Some creative mates of mine and me!

Some creative mates of mine and me!

Sleepy mates.. except for Nicky, shes awesome

Sleepy mates.. except for Nicky, she's awesome

Ok so no pics of the actual host of that great Nabe party… but I had Judo the next day so I couldn’t spend all night taking photos.

I lost my first fight at the comp so that sucked but I did get some cool photos. Such as the one included in the last post of a guy about to get ippon with uchi mata, or this one…

This guy had been working so hard against an overly defensive opponent... no wonder he wanted to take a breather

This guy had been working so hard against an overly defensive opponent... no wonder he wanted to take a breather

So that was on the 15th… with the next big event being my birthday party and Naked Man… I better make a separate post.

Peace

Leave a Reply

