Birthday and Naked Man Pics

Posted: February 25, 2009 in Thoughts From Flower Mountain, Uncategorized
Tags:

I had a fantastic party!

Andy and Julia
Andy and Julia
My good friend Bryan

My good friend Bryan

Stina, Vivian and Kana

Stina, Vivian and Kana

My cake!

My cake! The guy bringing it is a total legend - did all the food and everything at a moments notice!

By friend Nakka kicking the sing-a-long

By friend Nakka kicking the sing-a-long

This girl is a fantastic dancer - esp African dance!

This girl is a fantastic dancer - esp African dance!

>>>>>OK now, onto Naked Man.  Every year in Okayama, a prefecture west of Kobe, there is a festival where thousands of men fight for lucky sticks in nothing more than loincloths.  Below are some photos of me and my friends as we participated in said festival.

First – Preparation>

Step 1 - get somewhat inebriated

Step 1 - get somewhat inebriated

So that was in the bus to the festival site.  Once there, we had to get our kit off – from that came this:

Step 2 - get your socks on!

Step 2 - get your socks on!

Step3- get wedgied

Step3- get wedgied

Step4-get psyched

Step4-get psyched

Repeat Steps 1-4

Repeat Steps 1-4

Awesomeness doesnt get much awesomer

Awesomeness doesn't get much awesomer

Next – you have to get outside and do laps of the temple.. in the cold, but you don’t feel it, you’re so full of energy!

A Japanese team doing its laps before the battle for the sticks start

A Japanese team doing its laps before the battle for the sticks start

Teams of almost naked blokes gather at the main temple (Saidaiji)

Teams of almost naked blokes gather at the main temple (Saidaiji)

And even more folks gather

And even more folks gather

I was in the middle of that

I was in the middle of that

Comments
  1. Tom says:

    Did you get a lucky stick? Or are the sticks incidental? It’s just an excuse to get naked with a bunch of drunk dudes right?
    Looks amazing dude. I don’t really know why, but I’m envious.

    • thefirstdwolf says:

      No but our thrown-together gaijin team got three lucky sticks so I felt I played my part. But yeah pretty much – it is awesome fun

Leave a Reply

