Into 2009

Posted: January 3, 2009 in New Year, Thoughts From Flower Mountain, Uncategorized

Below is a copy of an email I sent out to all the JETs working in Kobe, for New Years.

<<Into 2009, the last year of the first decade of the new millennium, and the second winter New Year of my life.  Its worth reflecting that most folks on the top end of world maps are braving the cold to celebrate ‘the next one’; on the streets, at the temple, on the way to the pub, or the party house. I’ve never had to brave anything but a sunburn for Christmas and New Years, so last night, in the middle of Osaka, the stunning, chilly silence left an impression. No ones hanging out just for kicks at midnight.
So whether in the manner of burrowing creatures, or roosting birds, beneath the skin of the world or above, when, after festivities, rituals, a good dinner, you finally make it to bed and fall asleep, sleep well, and have a great breakfast come the morning! Safe from the cold, or shielded from the heat, we all need that moment to relax, smile and reflect on another year living on planet Earth.

Peace, and satisfaction… Damon>>

Now time passes quickly, so I will try to keep this weekly or fortnightly. I have a bunch of photos from a Nabe party in Matsutamachi, Osaka; a trip to Nara; some of my local shrine during New Years very early morning; Nose (pronounced no – se), a mountain town in north Osaka-fu; some of the mountain-surrounded city of Gifu – where am I going to find sanctuary to upload them all? I wonder. Will try google’s photo upload program, see how it goes.

For now, while waiting for my camera battery to revive itself, I’ll throw up a couple more of the flickR pics.

First, on my trip to Hiroshima, I wasn’t going to miss the chance to go to Miyajima (temple island), with the famous Itsukushima shrine, with marvelous gates that rise out of the ocean. But also – a cool fire hydrant. Here you go Conners!

Japanese double-spigot fire hydrant.

Japanese double-spigot fire hydrant.

And the better known –

Itsukushima Jinja Torii(gate)

Itsukushima Jinja Torii(gate)

For more photos, check my photostream on Flickr – theres a few posted here already but a lot of other pics also. A real mix of stuff. Which I’ll probably be adding to by the time you read this, if not before. Let me know if the link doesn’t work. And please feel free to comment*)

Leave a Reply

